With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Cut off

This isn't the snowiest of shots I got today, but it nearly summed up to me the feeling in the square this morning.

After a hard day's work yesterday, I watched some rubbish on the tv, staying by the fire until I realised it was late, I mean really late, before I got to bed.

And then at 7am I was wide awake and fully intended to take a tea back to bed, but part of me felt like a little girl and I had to get out in the snow. The atmosphere in the plaza was magical. The valley was completely cut off and it seemed like everyone was celebrating the exclusive feeling of living in such a wonderful place. Neighbours chatted on street corners. I was cheered with shouts of "Bet you feel at home!". Snowball fights broke out all over the place, the tables at Paris were inches thick with snow, oranges and lemons were the few glimpses of colour apart from umbrellas and anoraks.

I intended to take thousands of shots, you know, the snow piled up on the scooters etc. But instead I just marvelled at the reaction of the people. I haven't seen the whole town happier other than during the Firo.

A bit more work, a little lunch, a little rest and then a little walk. The snow from the streets has gone, but the mountains have a good covering and the temperatures have dropped. I have the fire blazing and I think some of the girls are coming round. I just wish I could have shared the day with the boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.