What another rant?

By JohnA

Strata SE1

I really love this building, and have been trying to get a good picture for ages, and will no doubt post a better one in the summer.

I am not usually one for these high rise blocks of flats, but I think that this building is something special. The design is quite spectacular, and it looks quite different from every direction. Its contrasting surface panels, shape and size. And is British design! I don't really think that the designers, nor occupiers, would be happy if you called it a block of flats, though, if I remember correctly the penthouse was about £3m - it is a 43 storey apartment building.

I watched it go up, over a period of several years, first clad in pastic sheeting, and as it took shape it became something impressive, being finished in 2007. You can see it from several miles away, and as I understand it, from the top you can see right across to the other side of London. And it's green - it has three wind turbines at the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.