Icy winter weather

It's cold. Temperatures of -10° to -12°C at the beginning of the evening are no exception. In the night there will be temperatures till -22°C. During the day, the thermometer at most places doesn't exceed -5 ° C. The DH in my region runs at full speed.

A woman on a bicycle stopped beside me when I pointed the camera in the direction of the smoking district heating.
"Do you think you'll get an interesting picture?", she asked me?
I was a bit surprised by this unexpected question.
"I think it's very kind of you that you care about the final result of my efforts." I said with a smile contorted by the cold.
"No, no", she said, "Do you know why I ask you this question?"
I told her I didn't.
"I bike here every day. And I make paintings. And every day I think would this view be worth painting? And now I see you here with such a big camera, so I thought I dare to ask this kind man what he is thinking about this view ..."

I told her about my daily journal. That I was looking for something that could image the cold temperatures of the past days. And that I found the large plumes of smoke above the shining chimneys of a DH in full operation very impressive.

"Oohh, I'm soooo glad you say that! I thought people would think I was mad when I would paint such a view. But you find it worth to do? Yes, right? That's what you meant? Well, thank you so much! I now buy the paint for it. Good luck with your picture, sir! "

And away she biked, through the cold and the snow. She hadn't asked if she could see my picture nor asked me if i could sending her a copy ... ;)



E-5: f/4.0 : 1/8000" : 50mm : ISO640

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.