Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Extraordinary Ordinary

Today has been really nice. I had a friend come down and visit me for a couple of hours, we spent the whole time chatting about "normal" (i prefer the word ordinary) things. He of course wanted an update on my health which is cool by me but once I'd got him up to date about that side of things we just spent the rest of the time blethering about things in general. Unfortunately it's been a truly dreadful day weather-wise with pouring rain and a really bitter wind. However, I managed a walk to a cafe with him and then even walked back - this is great from my point of view having been really unwell this week and even though it wasn't far I felt a sense of accomplishment at managing it.

After he'd gone off home I continued with Operation Blitz The House. This is a significant and military like process that has been ongoing for over a week. For some reason unknown to me I have suddenly developed a need to clean, tidy and throw things away. As I said to someone earlier on the phone, I've even dusted! This, for me, is unheard of. I think they thought I was joking. It feels almost like a compulsion, somewhat like the "nesting" that seems to occur when a baby is about to be born and the mother-to-be is compelled to get the house in order. Before anyone thinks it, no chance. There will be no child at the end of this mass tidy up. My illness means I will never have children so that's off the menu and anyway, Danté is hard enough to run around after never mind a toddler.

Today's image is a circuit board which I think the gas repair man dropped the other day when he was doing my annual gas safety check. I was going to Blip the tidy state livingroom is in but I don't want to give the wrong impression of me being anything other than a disorganised and chaotic individual who can put a cup down one minute and not find it the next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.