Dad wasn't a heavy drinker.

In all our lives I think I only ever went into a Pub for a pint once, with Dad, at the ''Beeston Castle'' when we were on the canal.

When we were kids he would go to ''The Brandraw'' for the Cage Birds Society meeting, where he'd have a couple of bottles of ''Nut Brown'' and that was his lot.
I never did get fixed in my mind the chronology, but Grandfather was a Wheel-right in Peter street Workington for a time and they kept the ''Ship Inn'' on Washington Street around 1927(ish).

As so many things seem to be vanishing and this one has, definitely, seen better days I thought I'd better get it while it's there to be got.

I downed tools at this point, leaped aboard Google©Earth and had a drive through ''Spyatrie'' (Spelling debatable) to take a Pub Census.

Red Lion - Here.
Brandraw - Building there, no sign it was a pub.
Station Hotel - Ditto.
Grapes - Present.
Letters - Present. It was the Firemen's watering-hole after training and other times, to the extent that they had a turnout bell fitted. I kid you not., which could be switched off through night.
Sun - Recognisably a pub ''To let'' sign, un-used.
Fox and Hounds - See Sun above ''Lease this Pub''.
Shoulder of Mutton - disappeared before I was born.
One left, doubtless, The Man will correct me ...
The Globe - Can't even recognise which building was it.

I can distinctly hear my bed calling (00:10) morning all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.