[blowfish]

By blowfish

range

went out to breakfast then a quick jaunt to the zoo, despite having this lingering head cold. the temperature has dropped a bit and the wind has picked up--starting to feel like winter should. which means too, of course, the sun had to be veiled by gray, disgusting clouds. those parted, finally, and we were able to snap some decent shots. despite being members at the zoo, we hadn't been for a while. home now, Leah is studying at the library and I am about to get out some reading to do the same. forgot to mention in yesterday's Blip (don't know why, really) about being part of a candidate selection process at my University. and by "being a part of," I just mean I got to sit in on the visiting candidate's lecture (it was a fascinating look at Wordsworth and Babbage and nature/technology, to oversimplify) and then go to lunch with him and some of the other EGTAs (on the department's tab), which was nice as he was a younger guy who just got his PhD in 2010, thus he had some good insights into the whole world of this higher education stuff. again, I am oversimplifying because that is the only way that I can deal with all of this dauntingly distant future. Apparently, there are two more candidates in next week, vying for the same British Romanticism tenure-track spot so I will get to do this all over again.

But that was then, this is now: I revel in my weekends.

Two quick highlights from today: 1) horns and 2) the petting zoo goat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.