The Belgianfest...

...was a great success. I almost got a free night's accommodation in Vancouver, BC. I'll tell you all about it later.

Here's the rest of the story.

On Friday night I decided to apply for a senior transit discount card, good for buses in several counties, and state ferries. I made a copy of my driver's license to go with the application form and forgot to replace the license in my wallet. That could have had very negative consequences, but fortunately didn't.

It used to be necessary to show photo ID on the train, and the requirement is still listed on the ticket, but I didn't get asked this time. As a result, I wasn't aware that I'd left my license at home until I arrived at the Belgianfest and was asked for ID. I looked in my wallet and immediately saw it wasn't in its usual place. While I was fumbling through my wallet another official walked up and told my interrogator to let me through. I am obviously well over the minimum legal drinking age, but our state liquor laws are very strict, and I could (and technically should) have been refused entrance.

My next potential challenge was the return train trip -- again it wasn't a problem. I made myself comfortable in my seat and fell into a deep sleep. I always manage to sleep on the train, even though the seats don't match my body contours very well. I woke up a couple of times and went back to sleep. Then I woke up and saw a station platform outside the window. I was idly wondering if it was Bellingham when I heard a voice --"Excuse me sir, do you live in Bellingham?"

If I'd missed getting off in Bellingham and gone on to Vancover, my lack of identification would have been a serious matter. I can think of two possible outcomes. Either I would have had to call Cynthia to come and get me (100 miles round trip) or I might have been locked up to wait for the morning train back to Bellingham. Neither would have been enjoyable. The fates were kind to me.

I posted links to the beer list and descriptions of each beer in my Friday blip. I realized afterwards that I should have put them here. So here's the detailed list again.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.