world in a grain of sand

By kateann

Breugel?

Well, maybe not but it's the inevitable comparison when the shot features lots of people in the snow.

I imagine every community that gets snow has a place like this where all the children, parents, dogs, sledges etc congregate. When my children were young we always knew we'd find sledging company here. The hill gradually gets polished by the multitude of sledges going down, giving a more thrilling ride. The adjoining field is steeper and ends in a fence - hence it being known in our family as "the big boys field"! Today, I was just an observer of the busy scene, with delighted shrieks and squeals reaching me on the next hill.

I love the adult bending towards the small child near the centre of this shot - I wish I could say I'd taken it deliberately but actually I only spotted it on the computer screen at home. That's what made me choose this for my blip today rather than the "arty" ones of the old metal gate in the snow -for me, it encapsulated a moment of parental tenderness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.