The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Maymorning

Feb challenge ... favourite song.

I'm sure a number of you will have had the same dilemma as I have, in that you don't have one favourite song!

I have always had music in my life and various songs are prominent in ones mind at various times. So, my thinking on this challenge was to choose from my favourite band, the Celtic Rock exponents Runrig. From their catalogue I have chosen May Morning, from the band's 10th album In Search of Angels released in 1999.
I have tried, in a spur of the moment grab a blip whilst walking Maeve way, to reproduce the album cover :-) This was the first album to be released after Donnie Munro had left in 1997 to pursue political ambitions, and for all of us fans it was a huge turning point. In a way May Morning sums up the success achieved through this new work and indeed their following albums.
Runrig were "alive again".

When I hear this song I have very strong feelings and memories of my time on the Outer Hebridean Isle of Lewis. As the weather returned to spring and summer after hard winters ... when I walked the hills with my collie... when we cut and gathered peats ... and the sun was with us for very long days.

As I would take the morning drive into work in Stornoway, along the peninsula of Point looking West and South over the Minch to the Summer Isles and on my other side to Broad Bay and over the whole of the island and down to the mountain of Clisham in Harris my world would often come alive again too. It is a song of rebirth and joy and the light and power of the islands. Have a listen and be inspired ...

Maymorning

I'm alive again on a Maymorning
Going to wipe the slate clean
Follow my dreams
All the yearning buds are here again
With the the promise of a new life to come
Spring is here again

The sun is melting over the hills
All our roads are waiting
To be revealed
For this day in history has brought us to here
Now it's all there for the taking
The day is what you see

The light's returning, the work is in hand
All the cynics have vanished
From where we stand
All the chances wasted are drawing me near
And all around there's new life rising
From the winter fields

I'm alive again
I'm alive again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.