Near-death experience (?)

"Today I almost died" ~Lisa

Let's back up 15 minutes:

It's around 10, it's been raining hard for hours and now there's a break. It's cold and I don't feel like walking today, it seems to me that it can start pouring again any minute. But Lisa insist to go and, being ashamed of not going, I joined her.

10 minutes into our walk, we faced the biggest black bear I've ever seen in the wild. He's about 200 feet ahead in the road and he has seen us. He's looking at us intensely, probably trying to figure out what to do.

Now I'm not afraid of dogs but a bear that size, whoa! By now, Lisa has stopped breathing, clutching my arm, not a sound can come out of her mouth even if she's trying hard. It's my first encounter of that kind and my heart has increased its tempo by a fair margin. We slowly turned and started walking - much faster - in the direction we came from.

Lisa keeps asking if he's following us. I keep saying no even if I see him slowly walking behind us. There was a slight curve in the road and I lost sight of him, which was even more unnerving. Anyway we walked back to the cottage in a record time. By then Lisa had started breathing again and that's when she said: "Today I almost died".

It was the first time I forgot my camera for our daily walk. I think I'm glad I did, I would have probably tried to take his picture. I wonder if we'll take our walk tomorrow.


Backblipped starting here.








[10h][W25m] [18h][W30m]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.