Poppy

By Poppy

Unbelievable!

Yet another day of glorious weather. I love it when you can just pull on shorts and teeshirt and know that you aren't going to need a fleece, waterproofs, etc!

In the morning Ollie and I sauntered along to visit my elderly neighbour and it was like being on holiday on a far away island. Birds singing, sun shining, wonderful! My neighbour, Sheila, and I started talking about cooking, a think she misses now she isn't able to do any. She showed me her old SWRI (Scottish Womens Rural Institute) cookery book, the one she got in her 20s and it was amazing. It was a collection of everyones favourite recipes, with little mottoes and notes along with them.

At the beginning of the book there was a sample menu for a healthy diet.

Breakfast
Porridge or wholegrain cereal and fruit
Bacon Omelette
Rolls or toast
Butter and marmalade
Tea

Mid-Morning
Milky drink or Marmite
Biscuit with or without Butter

Dinner
White vegetable soup
Mince balls, jacket potatoes, green vegetables
Treacle sponge

Supper
Grilled herring
Raw vegetable salad
Oatcakes
Butter and jam
Slice of cake

Bed-time
Cocoa
Biscuits


Amazing! I suppose everyone did much more physical work then and needed lots of energy, but if I ate that I'd need a lie down to sleep it off!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.