Evergreen's World

By Evergreengirl

A Charmed Life

Ceridwen started it and then kendallishere and chaiselongue followed. Their entries got me to thinking about the important objects in my life. After my mother's death in 2010 I inherited these charm bracelets of hers. I don't know what the significance of each of these charms had for her, but I do remember that as a child I loved to see her wearing them and I loved looking at them. She would sometimes let me wear one of them and I marveled at each small treasure, some so intricate in their details. My mother didn't lead a particularly charmed life. My father returned from WWII with what we would now call PTSD, the marriage failed and she was left to raise two children on her own. Still, perhaps the charms did some good. She wasn't an unhappy woman had good friends, was recognized for many accomplishments and lived to the ripe old age of 96!

In the bottom bracelet, left to right: A Glacier National Park charm, a sombrero, an abacus, a pair of scissors, a St. Patrick's medal, a beer stein, the Space Needle, a delivery truck (complete with a door that opens and closes), a ballerina and a key.

In the middle bracelet, l. to r.: A drum, a camel, a roller skate, a bell that says "Capri 1945", a heart, a St. Christopher's medal, an owl, a "Pot o'Gold", and a bag of golf clubs.

In the top bracelet, l. to r.: a fish, a 5 cent piece, a wagon and a charm that says "Hong Kong".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.