Gear

A rather uninspiring photo, but this is all about gear. And gear is important.

Tomorrow we're going tramping, and for the first time camping instead of doing huts. That means carrying somewhere to sleep and something to sleep on. We've been working up to this for a while and I have been bringing gear back for the US to help make us more lightweight, on a budget.

So let me detail what we have, I know several people are interested.

* Tent. Kelty Salida 4 (3.3kg), paid about $130 USD on special. See my review, it's good, but not perfect. But for what we wanted - light, well priced, roomy; it works well. But it won't survive a major storm I don't think, but then we shouldn't be out there with the kids! If you can find a lighter tent at a reasonable price let me know, I couldn't!
* Sleeping bags. To be honest, it's potpourri of bags, some Macpac, some Kathmandu, but all down and all lightweight.
* Sleeping matts. The kids have our old Thermarests, both around 500g, but we bought 2 new ones recently, the 2011 version of the prolite plus for me, and a womens version which one is great, just 480 g. Mine is a little larger and heavier (680g) to be honest, I should have bought the shorter and more lightweight version. I was thinking I needed comfort! Now I am thinking abut pillows tho! Paid about $80USD each on special.
* Stove. The MSR dragonfly. Multifuel and a bit heavier, but easy to use, especially for kids. Ideal. Bought from REI, $130 US
* Cookset, again MSR, and older set with nested frypan and 2 pots. Note you can get combo cooksets and dinner sets now.
* Dinner set, newly purchased GSI set, brilliant! Bought from Campsaver, around $32 USD, get their first timer discount.
* Water filter. MSR Miniworks, bought years ago.

Ok, there are a few other bits and pieces, like the spork (why would you need anything else?!)

At the end of the day it's a dance. How much do you want to spend vs how much can you carry vs how much do you think you need!

Have to say, I think we're on the right track with the balance.

Sadly, much of the gear I didn't buy in NZ as it's too expensive. Some I bought thru Sierra Trading Post and had it shipped to NZ (their freight is reasonable, you just have to look out for deals), some I but thru basegear.com or campsaver.com and had it shipped to the US where I picked it up.

Sierra Trading post has also been great for kids sandals and hiking boots. But it literally changes every week, and you kind of have to get on their spam list to get the special deals.

Hotels in the US where I have stayed on trips have been open to receiving good from these companies, which is perfect if you are travelling for work or pleasure, and want to buy some cheaper gear!

OK, so what would we do differently?

Weight, it's all about weight. I had 20+ kg, Hill had around 14, and Adam 4. Anything you can do to reduce weight is good. Major weight loss occurs in tents, sleeping bags & matts. We'd done well there so we couldn't lose much more, without major expenditure. I could have been less vain on my sleeping matt, but that was just 200g. We could have a lighter water filter, but they are SO valuable! I'd add a PILLOW!

Yep, not much I'd change, except getting Hannah a bigger pack so she had more weight, which might slow her down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.