D77

By D77

Myra

Turkey is very expensive, especially if the locals 'smell a tourist'. We jumped on a local bus and paid about £4 for the beautiful 1 hour trip from Kas to Myra. When we got off at the bus station and enquired about the location of the ancient Greek tombs, a very helpful and enthusiastic old gentleman offered to take us on the 3km trip for £20. I offered £10, to which he tutted, shrugged and laughed at me.

Aghast, I said "With respect sir, I would rather you sat on your fat ass and do nothing for the next hour - something you seem naturally adept at achieving - than extort money from me on the blisteringly hot day". A point which he dutifully and smugly complied with.

We eventually found someone to do it for £10, reluctantly. He was very busy selling cold almonds, and could only drop us off for ten minutes. Those ten minutes involved paying another helpful, enthusiastic local £10 so we could take pictures.

I took one, and this is it.

The greed in these peoples' eyes is a sight to behold and indicative of the Turkish attitude to tourism. This wasn't the only instance of this kind of service we experienced in our two week holiday.

Rest assured, I will never go there again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.