A Dog's Dinner

By G

Beanz Meanz Heinz

We couldn't remember that last time we ate any of these, maybe 30 years ago, so in a spirit of gastronomic investigation we decided to give them a try.

'Nostalgic' is probably the most generous thing you could say. It tasted like 'curry' tasted before we knew what 'curry' tasted like, if you see what I mean.

It tasted like the sort of thing my mother would make, before there was a curry house on every street corner, which was basically curry powder sprinkled over some brown meat concoction.

I imagine it's what curry tasted like at the height of the British Empire - not bad, just British and strangely sweet.

I'm sure Heinz sell millions of cans but I think we'll wait for another 30 years before we do a re-sampling.

Curry Beanz for the Great Taste of Great Britain - when the map of the world was all pink.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.