Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Up the garden path

Our house lies on a steep hill and the hill continues upwards in the back garden. Last year there were six concrete steps going from a small patio up to the main part of the garden. I never liked these steps (directly in front of the kitchen window), but then I'm not a great fan of concrete. After collecting as many of the old Edinburgh setts (or cobbles) as I could find lying about the garden and other places, I sett ;o) to work to make this sloping path. It took about three weeks during the wettest part of November and December and I needed some professional help to finish it off at the lower part, but mostly this is "my" path and I love walking up and down it to get to the other end of the garden. I've managed to do away with the other steps on the old path and redirected this into an S shape, so the garden is much more accessible.

Here's a blip of the path this morning while it was (it still is!) covered in frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.