Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

The Buchaille

I spent a long time on this mountain today. Snow conditions had settled a little, but there was a lot of it!!! Our 'easy' climbing route had to be dug out, arduously and slowly. Unfortunately we had become committed rather quickly and going up seemed like the only option. But there was an awful lot of up! I think we may have been talking at cross-purposes with some folk who I thought had said they'd been up there the day before. Looking back, some things they said really didn't add up...
The guidebook said 'climbable under most conditions'. I think we found conditions where this did not apply...
Still it was a beautiful night - and we had plenty of time to enjoy it! The long way down, avoiding the shorter but infinitely more dangerous and avalanche-prone descent was completed entirely in darkness. I wished for a tripod then as the moonlight flitted over the surrounding mountains - though at no other point during the day would I have welcomed carrying it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.