The venerable beech

Best viewed The venerable beech large

Or *go large*

The venerable bede - or Saint Bede - The Father of English History - a monk who resided in Sunderland, an author & scholar, his most famous work being 'The Ecclesiastical History of the English People' - written in the year of 731 - I know, hard to believe, what it must have been like in the year of seven hundred & thirty one...unthinkable I guess!

I chose this tile because of the above & the fact that beech leaves cling on throughout the winter. That's what I love about beech trees & beech hedges, they never seem to die, their leaves do not drop, & the old mingle with the new shoots. It's eternal life. Like the evergreen trees I love the most, my favourite being scots pine.

I've had an odd day. I've been listening to opera mostly & the incredible voice of Montserrat Caballe, I melted again at her Madame Butterfly & found this - El Greco: Movement IV, to say I was crying in the first 10 seconds is an understatement. I've had it on repeat for ages. I'm lost in her voice. I don't think I'll ever be the same again!!!

And as for Larry - he has been touched too, after half a dozen listens, this accompanying poem poured out of my fingers like his song that often pours into the air every time I see him... please click the link & read, let me know what you think (I am certainly not a poet, nor a writer of words)

Inexpressible Larry

It literally rained all day. Now the moon is full, but it's low cloud & mist. I keep seeing beautiful full moon blips & wishing I could see the same & take the same!

Thanks ever so much for all the wonderful stars, comments & hearts for yesterday's Small bird, with a lot to say - he's obviously my own private opera singer! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.