The Mummy in the Amaryllis

The Amaryllis Andy gave me for Christmas is finally blooming. What a spectacular thing.

It reminded me of a client project I did years ago; weeding through hundreds of photographs to help compile a book about plants trying to communicate with us by taking on forms that we instantly recognize, such as a human or animal faces.

I never did tell her that most people can see a face in something if there is one and that I've seen faces in things since I was a kid because that would have made her feel less "chosen". There was the birch-tree-Elvis-face that was permanently stuck on the uh-huh-huh-huh-yay-ay part of "I'm all shook up", the grumpy thistle at the Arboretum, the Foxglove bud that looked like a newborn, I could go on and on.

Point is, if it has anything resembling even just eyes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.