stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

R.I.P. 50mm

Before I get to tonight's blip, I'd just like to thank everyone for their lovely comments and hearts yesterday. Sometimes when I shoot, I have an idea in my mind's eye of what the final image will appear. It doesn't happen very often, at least not to me, where that image becomes reality, but it did yesterday. What made it special to me is that so many of you saw it too. What made it even more special is the reception you gave it. I can't tell you what a release it was to get out and about yesterday after being stuck in the flat for so long and your reception for the image really meant a lot. Thank you all!

Well, what can I say. Yesterday's triumph didn't come without a price. I didn't say anything yesterday because I didn't want to spoil the moment, but my wee 50mm...

'E's passed on! This lens is no more! He has ceased to be! 'E's expired and gone to meet 'is maker! 'E's a stiff! Bereft of life, 'e rests in peace! If you hadn't nailed 'im to the camera 'e'd be pushing up the daisies! 'Is metabolic processes are now 'istory! 'E's off the twig! 'E's kicked the bucket, 'e's shuffled off 'is mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin' choir invisibile!! THIS IS AN EX-LENS!!

The loss actually happened almost immediately at the start of the day. I was performing one of my many lens changes of the day, pulling my 50mm for the 70-200mm and somehow in the transfer the wee man fell. Initially, my fear was that it would be damaged in the fall, but it landed softly on a grassy area. My relief turned to horror as the wee devil began rolling down the end of the slope on which it landed, across the path on which I was standing (past my stabbed out foot which just missed it) and slowly down the verge on the other side... into the pond!

Noooooooooooooo!!!

It was like watching a golf approach shot hit the green and then spin back off towards the water hazard, and as much as you prey the fringe will catch it, you just know it's going into the water. I was stuck their holding my big lens but as it bobbed couple of times, Ross made a grab for it just as it began it's final plunge to the depths.

It's funny because I wasn't as upset as I really should have been, knowing that things could have been a lot worse if it had been either of the other lenses that I had with me that day. Not only is it my fastest lens, but it is, was, also the least expensive. At £80, it's a steal, and my primary everyday lens. It's a loss!

It's ok to laugh. I can now too. I had a wee look on the internet and without exception I read that recovery required a full overhaul of the lens. Given the price, this would almost certainly cost more than buying a replacement. Claiming on the insurance woouldn't be worth the effort either since I have a £35 excess, so I've just ordered a new one which should arrive at work tomorrow. This little one is now in a bag with some silica gel but the outlook isn't good.

A salutary lesson in taking more care when out and about!

Hope everyone had a good Monday. All the best for Tuesday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.