The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Time to reflect

I brought Bonnie to the hospital at 430 this morning. A nearly full moon was hanging low overhead on our drive. It was awesome and, for a fleeting moment, I wanted to blip it. Perhaps this inconvenient thought came to me because I dreaded the thought of taking my precious gift to the hospital. Or, perhaps, it was because I have been obsessed with capturing a great moon photo (btw, my big lens and big camera were in the trunk).

I came to my senses and took her directly to her appointment. Then, I waited. And waited. And waited. And, after that, I waited. Finally, the surgeon was at my side with a smile a mile wide. He was very happy and I was happier than he. They funny thing is, he had a photo in hand. A photo of her abdomen. I mean the inside of it. (I almost commented on the color and composition :-) He said the procedure could not have gone better. Yahoo for Bonnie.

About 12 hours after I arrived with her at the hospital, Bonnie was in her room resting comfortably so I finally went outside for a breath of fresh air. The sun was setting and I noticed the reflection of a few beautiful birch trees in the facade of the hospital. The windows were filthy dirty and my iPhone camera struggled with the light, but I thought the image was appropriate for the day.

The entire time she was in the OR, I reflected on our twenty years of marriage and how beautiful our lives have been together. I reflected on her precious meaning and the joy which she brings to me and our girls and pups. Just as these birch trees basked in the beauty of the golden sun, I feel her warmth every day and am thankful that the day ended in a beautiful way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.