Mystery Land

A mystery was discovered while bicycling on the Santa Cruz River Trail. This 260 acre piece of property along I-10 is for sale. View large and you will see that the small white sign warns 'Danger - Open Pit No trespassing Violators will be prosecuted... Authorized Personnel Only'.

After authorizing myself as a potential buyer I went to look. There is a hole in the ground of perhaps 100 acres and probably 100 feet deep. Deciding to have no interest in buying a hole in the ground, I continued on my bike ride. If you think you might be interested, call Doug and I won't charge you a Finders Fee.

It was a perfect afternoon to my notion. Driving to Childrens Memorial Park and unloading the bike I set out on the Rillito River Trail. To increase my endurance, the goal was to ride 20 miles at 75 rpm which actually ended up at 21 miles. Then a blueberry bran muffin and 2 cups of coffee for an after ride carbohydrate replenishment at Beyond Bread a Bakery and Deli was in order. Thats my idea of a perfect afternoon.

Incidentally the trees in the photo are part of a Pecan Grove. Pecans were mostly gone. The tire behind the white sign marks a 10 inch pipe with a plug. This is probably part of a flood irrigation system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.