An Everyday Rocket

By everydayrocket

The Art of Cautious Optimism

fang ren zhi xin bu ke wu
(Chinese proverb meaning: Be cautious of people that may hurt you intentionally.)

Hopefully, the above is correctly translated and I'm not saying something foul, which would be par for the course today.

I had a very late, but quiet, calming, solitary lunch of tapas and a Spanish red today. On my way back to the grind, I looked up and saw that not only was the bright sun perfectly illuminating this arch, the moon was also clearly visible behind it. I couldn't resist the urge to stop in the crosswalk and capture the moment.

Every day, coming in to the office, going to/from lunch, and heading home, I rocket past this magnificent work of art, known as the Friendship Arch. It is really the crown jewel of D.C.'s Chinatown; certainly no comparison to what you might find in San Francisco (which is so lovely!), but Chinatown nonetheless. I'm constantly finding something new in the construction as I gaze toward it waiting for the walk sign, or shuffle under it heading where ever. But I have not, for whatever reason (probably having to do with not looking like a touron), ever snapped a shot of it. Above is the first.

I'm taking my compulsion to capture this moment as a sign to move past today's events. To remain vigilant but still embrace the spirit of the arch - to remember and respect the role friendship can play in maintaining trust and open dialogue.

Fun fact: This is the largest gateway arch in the world, ironically in the smallest Chinatown. Read more about the D.C. Friendship Arch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.