A Sign

Yep, a sign. It's where I turned around and headed for home.

Left work at 4.30 and started my riding, finally. Been exercycling for a week or so, but now it's time to hit the road, and trail.

Interestingly, I have learned that the best form of training I can do is longer slower rides, initially. Increase my base fitness and train within my aerobic threshold. Which means road riding, a little odd given that the goal is all about offroad racing, with many hills. But it does make sense.

So, slicks on my spare mountain bike (I don't have a roadie) and out to Taitapu and back this afternoon. A shade under 30km, in 1hr 15, which I thought wasn't bad for my first ride in ages, and a strong easterly headwind on the way back.

Feels good. A long way to go though to reach the fitness level I need!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.