Pandahadley

By PJH

Chapelfield Gardens

Another very cold day and again I'm not going far so it's the city centre in search of inspiration. Unfortunately I struggled to find a subject that appealed. Eventually I found myself in Chapelfield Gardens.

According to the Chapel Field Society website what is now know as Chapelfield Gardens was originally the field of St Mary's Chapel part of the monastery which stood where Norwich'e Theatre Royal now is. Hence the name Chapel Field later Chapelfield. Apparently in the fifteenth century archers trained here before Agincourt. In 1580 the yeomanry were trained to resist invasion by the Spanish Armada. In 1666 the field was used as a mass burial site for victims of the great plague. Now it's a "park" with a cafe, a children's play area and a bandstand.

I don't quite know what to make of this piece of artwork on the side of a building in the gardens. It somehow looks "official" but I would have preferred a decent piece of street art. Make of it what you will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.