Hector's House

By MisterPrime

Queen Street

Spent a bit of time out in the snow yesterday listening to 'My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts', which was pleasingly incongruous. A very good album, which I missed out on at the time, despite very much liking the Talking Heads' 'Remain in Light', with which it has plenty in common - African drumming, angular James Brown funk and jittery whiteboy angst. I think it was the participation of Brian Eno - he may have been the clever one in Roxy Music, but I've always tended just to pop him straight into the box marked 'too much chin-strokery' (with the honourable exception of 'Another Green World', obviously...); plus there's always his inevitable association with the dreaded 'a' word. Now, of course, I'm older, duller and more catholic of taste, and I can even find time for the odd, ahem, selected ambient work. It was also nice in this particular case to discover something new/old through the tried and tested, pre-internet means of picking it up in the library because it looked interesting...!

Today I've been doing housework and stuff, but I did pop into town to meet Beck for a coffee and picked up a copy of a great book, 'Nico: Songs They Never Play On The Radio' by James Young, in Fopp. I first read it ages ago and have been meaning to re-read it for some time but thought it was out of print (and not in stock at the aforementioned library...), so that was pretty cool...

Last night we went to see the new musical version of 'Swallows and Amazons' at the Theatre Royal - never let it be said that we don't have a decent range of cultural interests in the Prime household...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.