The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Amber Insomnia

After tossing and turning last night in a pointless effort to fall asleep, I finally threw on a pair of jeans, a t-shirt and a jacket and took my dogs and outside to see the trees drenched by the full moon with the city lights in the background. It was 3am and it was peaceful and calm. A low voltage light at the base of our oak tree gave its branches and trunk a tremenously golden glow as though midas had waved his midnight wand. The camera and tripod were soon in the yard with us for a long exposure shot.

Doctors have always told me not to fight insomnia by staying in bed. They tell me to read a book, listen to music, pet the dogs. They say, do something other then try to force yourself to sleep. Perhaps they should mention photography. Shortly after my ten minute blip session, I was fast asleep, pups curled up on the end of my bed warming my feet.

Have a great "over the hump" day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.