Creeking

By Boatmansrobin

Don't you dare!

Fieldfare [Turdus pilaris]

Once more I was greeted this morning by a garden full of fieldfares, blackbirds, starlings, 1 robin and 2 bluetits.

I am still struggling with cameras and the difficulty of taking pictures through windows. I have frozen into an ice statue outside, but they all stay away, so I apologise for the poor quality of this shot but I just had to put it in as my blip today.

As I watched there were slight scuffles, daring leaps of two foot high with the two protagonists still fighting as they fell to earth (all much too fast to catch on film) and running skirmishes as fieldfares chased other birds away from their booty. (once again I was left with pics. of empty green grass). On one side I noticed a large Ff crouching in the grass, hiding not eating. As soon as a blackbird approached the Ff puffed itself up, raised its tail (wren like) and then fanned its feathers as it turned towards the intruder. I had not seen this happen before or even read about it. I was so entranced I watched them for ages and just had to include it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.