Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Shiny lump of rock

Any geologists in the house? I'd like to have been a bit more erudite with my caption but even after looking on the web I can't be sure what this rock is. I'm wondering if it's a type of obsidian.

It's been on a shelf for years. I can't remember when I bought it or where I bought it; and if it ever had a label it's gone. But I do know why I bought it after playing a light over it. Viewed front-on under light the rock is nothing special but if you angle a lamp sharply it fair glows - the kind of blue you see in peacock feathers.

I didn't venture out today and didn't get round to a blip until quite late in the evening and even then I was a bit stumped for inspiration. There's not much more to say about this except that it's only polished on one side. The underside is pretty dull. But I do like the shine and the glowing colour. It looks a bit blurry on top but the image is sharp. You can see that at the edges. It's just the way that it shimmers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.