experimental vehicle

For the first time since high school I am about start commuting with a bike that is well set up for commuting. Usually I have commuted on mountain bikes - many years with my trusty old trek 8500 (the battle truck), then my enduro (the cyclic jihad), a few different road racing bikes (most recently the pink fury). The last commuter (mudguards, carrier, cushy tires...) bike I had was a green raleigh from the 70's that I rode the 20km round trip to school each day during high school.

This marin frame was a bit of a racer originally I think, but I rescued from a friends house a couple of years back and have been loathe to throw it out - it's a really nice double butted, tig-welded cromoly frame. I've managed to get it going with parts from the too-good-to-through-out-parts bin and new cables so far. Tomorrow it gets mudguards and handlebar grips and after I took this shot I realised I had a much nicer seat tucked away, so that is now on it. Am excited - there's nothing like a 'new' bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.