I spy . . .

By Kitkat

Lone Ranger

Last night my Nephew (no6) had his first game!!

I was very excited .. but i didn't realise what memories it would stir in me.

Many years ago before I was sick i used to play in the first women's MK team.. the others (being the boys) didn't like it, they kicked up a stink and refused to give us proper training time. So every Friday night at 1 am 25 of us would go into the rink wide awake and ready to train.

I wasn't very good! But this was the first sport that excited me, that i loved with all my heart .. even though sometimes i'm sure i didn't show it. I'd never been good at school sports and never played anything as part of a proper team .. what fun and what friendship was had .. hahah I still keep in touch with a couple of the girls more than 15 years later.

However what was worse about last night is the fire that raged inside me .. with in 5 minutes of starting the game i was shouting like a hockey tramp at the players to " move it" and "take him out" .. not very nice of me!!

I used to train the REC team for about 6 months too .. I wasnt very good at that either .. but i loved it. UP at midnight heading down to Slough putting the boys through their paces .. the training side of it was good ..i just didn't do very well with the game plan..

Scarily .. watching last night made me want to get back into it until i had the sad realisation that I gave my ice hockey skates away only last month!

boo hoo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.