Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Potassium

A banana is the best I could come up with today as I'm still quite unwell and feeling unimaginative as a result. I'm sitting up on the sofa though which is a welcome change to lying in bed doing nothing. Well, to be honest I'm still pretty much doing nothing but I can look out of the window and watch television sat here so it's nice enough.

So, it all happened this week. A strange week it's been so far. I'll go back to last Saturday and catch up from there. This will probably end up like an essay so be warned.


On Saturday I was supposed to be going to Glasgow for the day but that got cancelled so I had a friend down to visit me instead. We had a brilliant day, took an extraordinarily long lunch in a cafe and chatted almost non-stop for four hours. It was one of those days that if it could be Groundhog Day I wouldn't change a single thing. After he'd gone back home I spent the evening tidying and sorting out stuff in my flat, I've been on a bit of a 'spring clean' and I wanted to get as much done as I could so that when my radiotherapy starts I won't have to worry about things being out of place or hard to find if I need them. Then I went off to bed.

I have to point out right now that on Saturday I felt absolutely fine, I had no hint of being even slightly under the weather never mind seriously ill.

On Sunday morning I felt a bit hot but still not ill, got up and dressed made a cup of tea and then pottered around for a couple of hours. As is my habit on a Sunday I gave the parents a phonecall and it wasn't until that point that I started to feel unwell. That would have been about 1230. By 1330 I was in the middle of what I thought was a straightforward and easily treatable asthma attack. An hour later I was on the phone to NHS24 unable to talk in sentences and wheezing like an accordion. After that I'm hazy on timings but NHS24 sent a car paramedic who came in and started me on a nebuliser and did some other checks, he then requested an ambulance to attend so another two paramedics came. Now, it felt like that all took a very long time but in reality it all happened very fast. They decided I should go up to hospital so off I went. Thankfully A+E was reasonably quiet and I was seen immediately. I got a chest x-ray and various other stuff done and thankfully was allowed home after further treatment and being given a prescription for antibiotics.
Monday and Tuesday were basically just spent in bed not doing a single thing. Yesterday I wasn't feeling any better so I got seen by a GP who doubled the dose of antibiotics I'm on, prescribed a new inhaler and gave me a short course of steroid tablets. I've been instructed to rest and if I'm no better or feel any worse to call for medical assistance which I will do.

Radiotherapy starts in ten days. This shouldn't delay it or affect it but it will be more smooth if I am back to full fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.