Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Cold and Hungry

Given that my mother is just out of surgery and my sister has been advised not to go in until after 3pm, it's not really the moment to go out looking for a human portrait.

This little Blue Tit is very much feeling the cold. I just loved the fluffy little ball and thought it would make a good bird portrait.

I'm afraid this little creatures future is not very bright. It hasn't moved very far all morning and may soon join a few others in birdy heaven. The sudden cold has taken quite a few lives and on finding them, the dogs have brought me their frozen little bodies. Cocoa retrieved one a couple of days ago which was alive but suffering from extreme cold. A couple of hours in the kitchen revived it and I released it unharmed but there's little hope for a complete recovery.

Strangely, the Sparrow Hawk that loves to hunt in the field, and has been known to take her meal from the bird feeders, hasn't been seen for a few days. With the huge number of birds attracted into the garden after the snow, I fully expected her to be about. A nest box she uses for shelter has been noticeably empty as well. I'm hoping it is just be to cold for her in this exposed area at the moment. The box is clearly visible from the house and it would be so exciting if she found a partner and raised her young where I can get an uninterrupted view.

More snow forecast for tonight and although I don't think it's likely to do much here I've been given the night off. The dogs need a little walk so I think I'll nip to the shop, get some comfort food to nibble on and curl up in front of the fire for the rest of the day.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.