michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Missus

I was on my way home last night at sunset, and saw a big bird framed against the orangeness of the setting sun. The big bird landed on top of a telephone pole. I was thinking hawk. I pulled off the road, and reached behind my seat for my camera...thinking I could get a nice silhouette shot. NO CAMERA!!! I HAD LEFT IT AT HOME!!! If I wasn't sitting in a car...I would have kicked myself.

The camera thing upset me, but something else upset me more. As I got closer...I could see a rounded head, but I could also see some pointy ears. IT WAS AN OWL!! I felt bad because I rarely get to see owls. We had one caught in our garage once, but, other than that...we just don't spot them. The part of my brain that takes pictures was depressed for a couple of hours.

Not much going on outside today. When I got home, I put out a few peanuts. The nuts always attract the jays and the chickadees, but lately the cardinals have been snatching them, too. I do like the eyeball and the spiked hairdo. Such a pretty bird.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.