"I wouldn't steal sunflower seeds!"

Another cold, grey dismal day in the east of England - I'm beginning to feel sun deprived!

I drove Alex to Huntingdon and then took the dogs along the river, but the light was scarcely strong enough to make anything visible. It definitely felt like the depths of winter - hardly any birds were singing - only the occasional foolhardy great tit - and even that was pretty feeble.

Back in the garden there were plenty of the usual birds. Word has got round among the woodpigeons that we're throwing grain onto the lawn, and there were over twenty around this afternoon, to add to the large flock of fieldfares, the crowds of chaffinches and the ever increasing blackbird mob.

Some of the blackbirds seem to be getting a bit territorial, and I saw at least two boundary disputes, as well as a female gathering nesting material - so at least someone's confident spring's on its way! And one of our robins really doesn't like the dunnocks - I suppose they occupy very similar niches so are probably viewed as competitors...

This squirrel was relaxing in the tree when I first spotted it. It doesn't mind being photographed, and often looks straight at me, as long as it can go and gorge on some seeds or nuts afterwards! If you look closely you can see part of our house reflected in its eye...

I'm posting early tonight as I'm off to give a talk to our local wildlife group, and probably won't feel like doing anything much when I return. See you all soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.