Music.

"Moving Oleta was the hardest thing he'd done
The nurses saw an old woman crying, but he saw the love of his life
She don't know where she is, but she knows this isn't home"
-Reba McEntire - Moving Oleta

The above is a rather heart wrenching song that was played on Radio 2 earlier this evening. It wouldn't be my usual choice of music, however the words of this song could not be ignored. It tells the story of a man who has had to move his wife into a home.

I think perhaps it was so compelling because it reminds me of a few of the people who I have been working with over the past few weeks. One couple and one other lady in particular. Actually, quite a few more than that.

It really makes you think.

On a cheerier note - I passed placement! With a strong B :] the report was really positive and supportive. Given how much I struggled initially and how difficult a placement it is anyway I am really happy and relieved.

Just a final 4 hours tomorrow to tie up some loose ends and then that is it! It really has flown.

"...let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God." - Hebrews 12v1b-2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.