A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

Five a day the easy way.

This demonstration really appealed to me but not to the rest of the gang, so we decided to go our separate ways.Fraz was having to 'gym it ' every day to reach peak fitness in time for his ten marathons in ten weeks which he is planning, starting with the London Marathon.Leo and Scott were in rehearsals and Bill tried his utmost to escape the knife but ended up joining me.I found it fascinating and now know, if I ever need a floral arrangement and have no flowers to hand, I can simply carve up some fruit and veg which is always in plentiful supply.
This Filipino guy came from a long line of carvers and his brothers were all in the same profession.Our American friends dreamt up some amusing inputs for question time such as 'Are you vegetarian?' and ' If I were to sail on another RC ship, would I meet your brother?'or 'Have you still got ten fingers?' He was the only one on board with his skills.. He carved twenty plus melons each and every day to place on displays in the food halls, as well as bigger arrangemnts for special occasions.I couldn't get away with how quickly he worked.He was also the ice sculptor and produced some amazing pieces, never the same thing twice.He also sculpted in wood, so obviously had an outstanding talent and the pay to go with it !!
Time for a lazy afternoon by one of the many pools before dressing for our first formal dinner.Opted to miss out on cocktails with the Captain - not really my scene.Now, had there been a cup of tea on offer that would have been a different matter.I would have been first in line.
Then came what I had come all this way to see, the first of the big stage productions 'Rhythm and Rhyme' This had routines from shows such as West Side Story , Pink Panther, Moulin Rouge, All that Jazz,Half a Sixpence and Chicago to name but a few.I'm afraid we only just had enough time to roll the few hundreds shots off the camera and head on back to the theatre for the second show.
Late drinks in the bar allowed us to meet up with some other members of the cast.By the time the younger generation had finished for the night,(Leo is wardrobe mistress, so had to ready all the costumes for the following show) it was a late night order for them from room service.Scott being Scott, managed to eat enough food to satisfy three.Adrenaline pumping meant a late night chat session for our young stars of the movies.Top notch show guys, as good as anything I have seen in the West End!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.