Marking Time

By Libra

Swimming with dolphins

I had just finished photographing the dolphins in Curacao this morning when I became aware that an elderly Indian couple and myself were the only people left on the observation bridge.

I got talking to them.

There are few non-whites amongst the 1,500 passengers, maybe a dozen, on board.

This is their first cruise. It's a special treat for the woman's 60th birthday, something the family had clubbed together to buy them.

Were they enjoying it? They were guarded in their response.


I sensed a sadness and loneliness about them, aware that I might be the first passenger on the ship they had spoken to all week.

As for those who swam with the dolphins they were ecstatic about the experience, even the woman who got into difficulties in the water and had to be fished out in an emergency.

Environmentalists are less keen on this new tourist trend and it is the subject of some controversy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.