Today's Special

By Connections

Play Time!

This afternoon our friend B came up for a brief visit. He's a professional photographer, and uses an Olympus e-p1 for his non-commercial work. It's a micro four-thirds camera, like the Panasonic Lumix cameras Phil and I use, so we got to play with the Olympus lenses B brought up with him.

It took me back to the "old days," before digital cameras, when carrying several fixed focus lenses was commonplace. I remember taking only a 24mm lens and an 105mm lens on one vacation, and really liking the shots I got.

I took today's photo using B's Olympus 45mm (90mm equivalent) f1.8 lens, and even though the rosemary sprigs are not completely in focus (attributable to not yet having my post-cataract procedure new glasses), I love the result. Here's some more "playing" -- this one makes clear my fondness for my kitchen faucet, and this photo, with simple shapes, shows the focus drop-off nicely. I think I'll need to start saving for that lens!

B and I met in college, more than 40 years ago. He encouraged me to buy the Olympus Pen-F, my first "real" camera, mentioned in About Local Food Lover and taught me to print black and white photos. If someone had told us then that one day we'd be taking photos without using film, we never would have believed it. It's ironic that we are still playing with Olympus lenses four decades later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.