Patrona

By patrona

Edible duvet stuffing?

This fruit or seed pod grows on a vine like plant in a sunless and neglected part of the garden by the back gate. It seems to thrive in this inhospitable location and as with other parts of the garden, weeds if not ugly or pernicious are often left alone as they at least provide some plant life whilst other more civilised species give up the ghost, whither and die.

Anyway, as usual, being less than an expert in the flora of Catalonia, I rely on my kindly neighbors for advice, our nearest neighbor clutches the pear shaped and sized seed pods avariciously and tells me they are good to eat (but then I always feel she has been a little addled by long hours in the sun), another worthy old farmer tells me they are edible too, but what is there to eat? When they split open they contain a mass of feathery white fibres and a few brown seeds. That lead to the most credible explanation from a lady of at least 93 years young who said that in her early married life, they would be gathered and used to stuff pillows, cushions and eiderdowns. So it seems I am cultivating organic vegan duck down.

Excuse me, I must away to munch on my Nordic (Catalan for duvet).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.