shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Well, did you expect anything else?

For those of you who fulfil one of two criteria, this blip won't be much of a surprise. The first is living in the west of Scotland and the second is having read my blips for more than a few weeks. Those of you will probably know what is going on just by Queen St station tonight, and that as I commute via Queen St the chances of me blipping it are pretty high. For those of you not in the know, read this for full details.

I first heard that there was something going on while on the train back to Glasgow to meet a friend for a quick dinner. He said that Buchanan Street was closed off and there were lots of police around. I checked the BBC to see that there was indeed something going on, but at that point there was no info being released, so there were fantastic stories going around. My friend had heard it was a hostage situation, he was sure it wasn't a bomb scare, as the barriers weren't far enough away. The next story was from the husband of a woman on the train who said there was a man wandering around on West Nile St with a bomb strapped to him. Once I arrived at Queen St and came out onto West George Street at George Sq, I stopped to take a quick shot and a guy came up to me (a little the worse for wear, but still fairly with it) and told me that the problem was someone in Pizza Hut with a bomb. His follow up comment to this was a classic: '"Can't really blame him, I'd f***ing bomb it!"

I popped back up to take a few more shots after dinner, and saw things were fairly relaxed, the nice polisman on Buchanan Street was even helping an old lady find her way. There was a camera crew by Queen St and a few photographers (yes, I did have an acute attack of lens envy) on Buchanan Street, but folk with kids in pushchairs were stopping to see what was going on, and the police were being very friendly and chatty. About all the excitement Glasgow usually sees on a Friday night is a few neds with knives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.