Views from the Edge

By ElviraTSquirrel

cake

ok...so I made a cake.

It was from the book I just bought and I thought it would use up a few pears I had that have gone soft (ones no one eats and the birds usually get them)....it also used almonds rather than flour...and I had a few packets floating around that needed using up.

I really neednt have bothered.

its a cake that uses equal measures of sugar, butter and almonds with a tot of almond essence. lemon juice and zest thrown in for good measure...then you bung the pears on top and bake for an hour.

Nope.....it took over an hour and a half and as you can see the damn thing burned.

Never mind, thought I, it'll be fine.

It just takes of, well....gritty butter. I have no idea what went wrong...I can usually bake a pretty nifty cake.

Not a good start to a new cookbook :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.