The second half of life..

By twigs

More than skin deep

Had a nice lie in this morning then got up and did 45 mins of yoga. It was hard this morning - very hard. Not sure why - maybe because my body was more tired from spending the whole day yesterday on my feet? Or I slept longer than usual? Or the cleanse has had a bigger effect than I'd imagined? Or something else?

Anyway, I managed to drag myself off to the market late and managed to collect another 40 or so smiles - not quite the hundred I'd hoped for but never mind. This project is taking longer than I'd initially thought it would but it's been a welcome lesson in patience, small steps and taking time to enjoy the journey.

Instead of posting just one of the smiles today I've decided instead to try to reflect something I've noticed as I've captured more and more smiles - just how similar we all are.

Sure - there are superficial differences in ages, skin colours, face shapes and so on, but at the end of the day, it's our simmilarities that stand out to me so much more than our differences.

This image is a composite of 10 of the ladies I shot today. They range in age from early 20's to 60's. There's a few nationalities: French, Kiwi, American, English, Chinese, Bahraini as well as a few different ethnicities. And yet they fit together so well to create another beautiful woman whose wisdom and beauty from beaneath the skin shines through regardless of all the superficial, skin deep qualities.


Note: Mods have interpreted the whitespace I used in the original as a 'border' and have modified my image by removing it. You can see the original as it was intended here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.