Nomadic Randomness

By MikeA

New Toy

Finally, I've managed to find a Sony NEX-7 in stock. I've been wanting a mirrorless ILC for quite some time, but couldn't decide what to get. Micro 4/3? Nikon 1? The new funky Fuji? In the end I decided on the NEX-7, as while it's not the smallest mILC on the market, it does have an amazing sensor and some great features, and as I'm really looking to have DSLR performance in a more portable format, this is what I settled on. While I absolutely love my Nikon D700 and associated paraphernalia, it's just too big to lug around when I go on business trips.

Of course, the NEX-7 is not perfect either. The lens selection today is poor. I have the Zeiss 24mm F/1.8 on order, and should be here next week, but the 50mm F/1.8 is nowhere to be found. And where's the good, fast pancake lenses? Where's the high-quality wide- to mid-zoom? They're coming, apparently, as Sony as published their 2012/2013 lens roadmap, but they can't come soon enough for me.

Anyway, the battery is charging, so I thought I'd Blip a photo of it before I start Blipping photos from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.