Seismic Blips

By Seismicshed

B is for.....

... Broad Ride.

That's what this wide woodland path is called. It's at Rufford Country park, in Nottinghamshire. There are Broad Rides all over this part of the country - Remnants from bygone days where country gentlemen would hunt in Sherwood Forest without wanting all those tiresome trees getting in the way and poking their eyes out.

A few months ago I took some frosty pics of Rufford, but today a good 3 or 4 inches of snow lay largely undisturbed on the ground and the whole place was magically glistening in the crisp morning sun. Birch, Chestnut and Yew line the ride, with the occasional deep green holly bush adding colour. Woodland birds aplenty continue to frustrate me as I try to snap them with my phone camera and fail dismally. One particularly fat, bold Robin posed perfectly right up until the microsecond it took me to press the button, when it buggered off completely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.