Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Farley Mount

I envy all of you who catch pics of the sunrise. When I got up this morning the sun and sky looked stunning, but I was already years too late. However, my daughter and I took the car out to Farley Mount, about 3 miles out of Winchester and got suitably froze in the beautiful landscape. The ungritted lanes were an inch thick in ice, which stupidly surprised me because everything in Winchester is dry and almost snowless.

Farley Mount is a strange place - a monument on a very high spot with sweeping views. I chose this image, after much gnawing of fingernails, because the landscape was as white as the monument, and that doesn't happen so often. It looks like a Mediterranean chapel, doesn't it?

Actually, this is what it's all about according to its plaque:
Underneath lies buried a horse the property of Paulet John Esq that in the month of September 1733 leaped into a chalk pit twentyfive feet deep a foxhunting with his master on his back. And in October 1734 he won the hunters plate on Worthy Downs and was rode by his owner and entered in the name of Beware Chalk Pit (original wording!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.