OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Skaill Bay

It pays to look over your shoulder. I was walking with my back to the bay when I looked round and saw the nice light on St. Peter's Kirk. I had passed through the neolithic village of Skara Brae and, after taking this shot, went onto the clifftop above the Hole o' Row with the big waves crashing into the cavern space below.

Then along the cliffs. Hundreds of guillemots and fulmar but not that much else. A merlin was nice, and pair of raven at Ramna Geo obviously had a nest there. I had my coffee and headed back, getting some white-winged gulls- 2 glaucous and 8 iceland. A flock of ringed plover on the beach were bathing in a pool, and then I saw a gull trapped on barbed-wire. It was struggling furiously but well-snagged. When I reached it I saw it was a year-old common gull and the trapped wing didn't look too good. I managed to free it and was pleasantly surprised when the gull as able to fly off immediately, apparently with no ill-effects. It shows how resilient feathers and wings can be, for all their seeming fragility.
More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.