1..2...3..

By jeanine

Rome, Italy

Our port of call was in Civitavecchia, Italy, which was a short train ride away from Rome. We saw a number of tourist-y sights, including the Pantheon, Trevi fountain, the Piazza Venezia ("the wedding cake"), the Colosseum (well, the outside), and the Forum.

On our way to the Pantheon, we witnessed the final moments of a leather bag shop getting robbed by a group of 7 or 8 people.. only seconds before that, I'd had a strangely uneasy feeling about the area and tucked away my DSLR in my purse.

This photo, of course, is of St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican City. It was astonishing and beautiful, with absolutely every surface covered in some ornate painting or sculpture. I wish I had taken a couple of seconds to check that my shots had turned out, because many of them were on the blurry side (agghhh). But wow, even looking back on the photos, I realize that I have never felt so incredibly small in my whole life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.