lightscape*

By tolu

Missing Kai

I miss you!

Like a favourite scent when the bottle is spent
Like the absence of thought in a quiet moment
Like an unremembered item or crucial detail
Like the missing ingredient in a favorite meal

Like arriving late to an empty home
Like your shoes in the hallway, lone and unworn
Like your uneaten iced gems and unplayed toys
Like rooms that echo with uncomposed noise

Your excitement at your imaginary ventures
And the scrapes and bumps from your misadventures
Your soon forgotten tantrums and stubborn grumps
Your proud little face when you've done a trump!

I miss your chubby arms around my neck
Your forgiving smile when I'm so imperfect
Your curiosity of life translated into questions
Your spontaneous and often repeated 'I love you's'

I miss you!


Kai is spending the week with his grandma giving me some time to myself. I have a busy week ahead, but I am missing the little guy like crazy. He is such a loving little boy and the house seems very quiet and my lap very empty!

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.