Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Snow capped oyster

I've been keeping an eye on the gigantic oyster fungus (thanks again to Mollyblobs for identifying it for me) that I first blipped on Jan 18 and Jan 19.

At that time SheenaghMclaren advised that I should, for identification purposes, always photograph the underside too. On my walk to the paper shop today, I first took straightforward "looking down" shots but then I remembered that advice. Quite tricky kneeling in the snow but well worth it to see the beautiful gills.

This offspring (off shoot?!) of the original 12" monstrosity is not quite as large (about 8" diameter) but looked very striking with its icy cap. I don't know what temperatures these fungi can survive but it was minus 6 here last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.